We have all watched the events that are unfolding in Egypt with a wide variety of emotions. Sadness, frustration, anger…the list goes on and on. Kenneth Cole looked at it a different way – with a mix of PR and sarcasm…and stupidity.

Kenneth Cole Tweet

Kenneth Cole Tweet

Now, in full disclosure, I have always liked the Kenneth Cole brand. Also, I am far from the “P.C. police.” However, there are certain things you just don’t make light of; the 9-11 terror attacks, slavery and the holocaust, to name a few. What is going on in Egypt should be added to that list.

Social media has played a large part in the uprising in Egypt. It has been one of the primary ways to get two-way information. Additionally, many companies use Twitter to promote their brands. The combination of the two here? I have to disagree. It was definitely in poor taste.

Now some may say that he was crazy like a fox. That there is no such thing as bad PR. Not sure if I really agree. I think this is a perfect example of how social media can backfire. Ultimately, I believe this will hurt his brand.

