Image credit: Siddartha Thota

I will openly admit it – one of the hardest parts of SEO for me has always been link building. Mainly because I always want to make sure the links I create are high quality and not considered “spammy.” In light of Google’s rollout of Penguin, it confirmed in my mind that I was doing the right thing. So I am stunned when I see comments with links like this:

“What a wonderful piece of information Admiring the time and effort you put into your blog and detailed information you offer! I will bookmark your blog and have my children check up here often. Thumbs up!”

For those of you who aren’t aware, I have a blog that talks about fiber arts, crochet, yarn spinning, and the like called The Fiber Forum. This is a comment I received on a post about a book review. Obviously this has NOTHING to do with my blog and is a failed attempt at getting a link. I wouldn’t do that to someone else’s blog and I am always annoyed when someone tries to treat my blogs as link building opportunities.

Now I will say I understand how frustrating it can be when you are working hard to build a solid website following white hat techniques and you don’t get any traction in search engine results. It can be even more stressful when you have a client that expects to see results quickly and those of us who do this for a living knows there is no such thing as an “overnight success.” Can it be tempting to go black hat? I guess. Is it worth it? In my opinion, absolutely not.

As frustrating as it can be, I will definitely continue to follow the moral of the story of “the tortoise and the hare.” Slow and steady wins the race.

